Paine College opened its doors in 1882 with the explicit purpose of preparing teachers. The Department of Education was created to better meet the demands of stakeholders in the education community.

The Department of Education at Paine College envisions developing stewards of education who are subject matter experts, reflective practitioners and socially competent professionals driven by learning. Similarly, faculty and staff have accepted the mission, to develop candidates who demonstrate knowledge of content, teaching, learning and cognition through reflective critique.

The Georgia Professional Standards Commission has approved the Department of Education to offer programs leading to certification in elementary education (K through 6), middle level education (4 through 8) and secondary education (9 through 12) in the areas of mathematics, biology, history and English. All education programs are offered in collaboration with the Department of Humanities, Social Sciences and Natural Sciences and Mathematics.

The Paine College Department of Education is accredited by the National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) organization and a member of the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (AACTE), Association of Independent Liberal Arts Colleges for Teacher Education (AILACTE), Georgia Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (GACTE) and Georgia Association of Independent Colleges of Teacher Education (GAICTE).