Paine College to host 2nd Annual Automatic Data Processing, Inc. Scholar Recognition Banquet | March 24, 2011

Posted by ncarter | 03/23/2011 10:12 AM

(Augusta, GA) - Paine College will host the 2nd Annual Automatic Data Processing Inc., Scholar Recognition Banquet on Thursday, March 24, 2011 at 6:00 p.m. This event will be held in the Candler Memorial Library Building. Scholars from Augusta State University, Augusta Technical College and Paine College will be recognized during the banquet.

This August, more than 50 talented students from Augusta Technical College, Augusta State University and Paine College received additional funds for their education. After a rigorous selection process, Automatic Data Processing Inc. (ADP) Scholars Committee awarded over $45,000 to the students, making them the second group of students to receive the scholarship.

The scholars program was result of a new collaboration with Automatic Data Processing Inc. (ADP), one of the world’s largest providers of business outsourcing solutions. Juniors and Seniors were chosen to receive the scholarship at the beginning of the Fall 2010 semester. 

In February, Paine College, Augusta State University and Augusta Technical College announced a three-year partnership with Automatic Data Processing, Inc. (ADP). Combined, the three institutions received $600,000 to be distributed to increase the number of graduates in the critical areas of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) as well as to increase the number of certified teachers in critical need STEM fields.

Each institution planned to establish scholarships with the funding from the grant. Paine plans to graduate at least 20 students through ADP Scholarships in STEM areas and greatly expand academic support programs in STEM disciplines. “Paine College is proud to partner with ADP, along with other institutions of higher education in Augusta, in the development of the ADP Scholars Program designed to meet the goal of producing a scientifically literate citizenry for Augusta, Georgia, and America,” said Dr. George Bradley, president of Paine College.

Soon after the check presentation, Paine College formed a committee that worked diligently to establish the ADP Scholars program at Paine College. This program is different from any other scholarship program we’ve established institutionally,” said Dr. Tina Marshall-Bradley, special assistant to the provost and professor of Education at Paine College.

At Paine the scholarship requires each student to work as a Research Assistant or Teaching Assistant. Students will have a chance to present research to faculty, peers and others during local and national conferences.

Scholarship recipient Brittany was elated about engaging in more research. “Through the research assistant component of this scholarship, I’d like to focus on infectious diseases,” said Cox, a senior biology major.  Cox is researching the environmental contributions and factors and how they are connected to health disparities.

Augusta State University Scholarship recipient, Stephanie Agyemang says she is applying for medical school as a result of the scholarship program. “I thank ADP for realizing the need for more students going into the Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics.” she said. “ I am happy to say I will graduate in May 2012 and I am in the process of applying to medical school.”

ADP executives and the Mayor Pro-Tem are slated to attend this year’s banquet.

Photo caption: Scholars from all three institutions with ADP Executives at the Inaugural ADP Scholar Recognition Banquet

2010-2011 ADP Scholars  (Paine College)
Stephanie N. Golden
Audrey J. Walker
Ashley Williams
Barbara J. Hawkins
Akayleeya Tate
Tenaca Golden
Krystal C. Wright
Brian C. Murry
Brittany Cox
Londerial Eady
Whitney Baker
Dominque Dessausure
Casheba Ellis
Tiffany Fowler
Mauricia Gaines
Keldra Isaac
Camilla Little
Natasha Rudd
Jasmine VanExel
DeAndreia Youngblood

2010-2011 ADP Scholars (Augusta State University)
Stephanie Agyemang
Craig Atkins
Wesley Black
Kacee Camp
James Campbell
Brittany Cipollone
Riad Elmor
Erik Ewing
Mary Gadalla
Brendan Gillins
Skylar Hendricks
Rebeccah Houston
Amy Jackson
Philip Javernick
Kara Kreutzer
Brandon Koch
Anna Loyal
Christopher Parham
Katherine Picciano
Karis Smith
Felix Sosa-Rivera
Kenneth Stephenson

2010-2011 ADP Scholars (Augusta Technical College)
Charity Blue
David Carter
Rudolph Falana
Joshua Gonzalez
Latesha Hightower
Christopher Krygier
Kiah May
Kenya Myers
Robert Smith
Terrance Walker
Johnny Whitaker
Shona Woods

For more information, contact Natasha Carter at 706.396.7591 or 678.215.8576 or