Paine College Admission

Board of Trustees



The Board of Trustees of Paine College shall be responsible for the overall governance of the College and shall elect the President for a term of office to be determined by the Board. The Board shall also approve annually, upon recommendation of the President, all instructional, administrative and other members of the College. The Board of Trustees exercises ultimate institutional authority as set forth in its by-laws.

Members of the Board of Trustees

Attorney Michael L. Thurmond
Chair, Board of Trustees
Stone Mountain, GA
Bishop Thomas L. Brown, Sr.
Chair-elect, Board of Trustees
Atlanta, GA
Dr. Cheryl Evans Jones (Ex-Officio)
President, Paine College
Augusta, GA
Dr. Carmichael Crutchfield
General Secretary, Department of Christian Education | Christian Methodist Episcopal Church
Memphis, TN
Rev. Michael McCord
Executive Director | Georgia United Methodist Commission Higher Education & Campus Ministry
Carrolton, GA
Dr. Lester G. Jackson
State Senator, Georgia
Savannah, GA 31419
Dr. Barbara Burns Hall
College Park, GA
Mr. J.R. Henderson
Atlanta, GA
Attorney Sharyn Doanes-Bergin
Tyrone, GA
Rev. Willie Wiley (Deceased May 22, 2023)
Presiding Elder| Christian Methodist Episcopal Church
Grovetown, GA
Dr. Tyrone Davis
General Secretary General Board of Personnel Services | Christian Methodist Episcopal Church
Memphis, TN
Rev. James Cason, Retired Pastor
Statesboro, GA
Dr. Lenalda R. Corley
Principal, Crenshaw High School
Carson, CA
Mr. Derrick Gross
President, Paine College National Alumni Association
Stone Mountain, GA
Mr.Fred Thompson
Washington, DC
Dr. Charles Larke
Retired Superintendent, Richmond County Public Schools
Augusta, GA
Bishop Robin Dease
Resident Bishop | North Georgia Conference United Methodist Church
Atlanta, GA
Bishop David Graves
Resident Bishop, South Georgia Conference | United Methodist Church
Macon, GA
Rev. Jerry D. Woodfork, Sr.
Presiding Elder, Sixth Episcopal District | Christian Methodist Episcopal Church
Atlanta, GA
Rev. John Thompson
Retired Pastor, United Methodist Church
Columbia, SC
Mr. Victor Taylor
Mr. Melvin Lindsey
CEO, Amerigroup
Atlanta, GA
Dr.  William Lawless
Faculty Representative
Augusta, GA
Rev. Greg Porterfield
District Superintendent, United Methodist Church
Evans, GA
Mrs. Jacqueline I. Scott
Memphis, TN
Attorney Barbara E. Bouknight
Past Board Chair
Flint, MI

   Bishop Marshall Gilmore

  Trustee Emeritus


   Dr. Ora McConner Jones

  Trustee Emerita

   Chicago, ILL








Staging Enabled